halal_bio ik_eet_halal
halal_nederlands
halal_france halal_uk
halal_information
Home | Services | Halal concept | Certification procedure | Consumers | Contact
  halal_certification

Alternatives to animal gelatin

 
What is animal gelatin ?


Gelatin is a protein of animal origin, obtained by the partial hydrolysis of collagen contained in bones and skin of animals. It consists of 84 to 90% protein and approximately 1% of mineral salts, the rest being water.
On an industrial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the leather and  meat industry, mainly bones and remains of pigs and cattle. The seals and the sharks are also excellent sources of collagen.
The use of skins and bones of pigs presents a problem for law-abiding Muslims in the rules imposed by Islamic law. It is also important to note that even when the raw materials come from permitted animals (notably cattle), Muslims must ensure that these animals have been slaughtered according to Islamic rules, otherwise many Muslims do not consider Halal products (for example gelatin) originating from these animals.

 

Download the full text with all information related to the use of gelatine and the alternatives to animal gelatine (agar-agar, carrageenan, pectin, xanthan gum, cellulose gum) :

gelatin
halal_market
halal_koran
halal_guidelines
halal_kosher
food_additives
halal_ingredients

 

halal_vlees

 
 
Designed by Best-Design